data-csrf="1711632384,ee08d3435e16f34be043cb297986b6dc" Tools? | As Real As It Gets

Tools?

Oatmealsavage82

Nov 15, 2011
Alberta Canada
Being a millwright by trade ive used a good many hand tools. As far as brand no one gets the win in my books. Certain things from certain outfits. Creacent wrenches gotta be Macs phospated black ones, beefy and open very wide for the hamdle length. Ratchets i stay away from snapon as i tend to explode them easier than any other brand, I really like the craftsman pro series ratchets i picked up a few years ago, SK makes a good ratchet, proto isnt terrible either. Torque wrenches gotta be snap on or CDI. Pry bars snap on for the screw driver type handles. One of the all time best tools I have ever found are the knipex Cobra pliers, if you dont own a set just go and buy yourself a couple pairs you wont regret it. Knipex also makes really nice side cutters. Ive had good luck with snap on and craftsman sockets. Asfar aswrenches go i like snapon, dont care for the flank drive ones though. Really like the craftsman pro series wrenches as well. Ive had really gokt luck with Mac and IR air tools.

dznnf7

Apr 30, 2016
I have good tools and a fair selection of shit tools that are sacrificial for bikes and cars. Lots of HF wrenches that have been cut off, ground thin, heated and bent for tight spots. Knipex makes great stuff - high price, high quality, and innovative. Pliers are the best - although I have a pile of cheap pliers and fake vise-grips around with modified ends for tight jobs.
Not too many people will use tools harder than a Millwright, so there's good advice above. Especially about avoiding brand loyalty. You don't want to be one of those guys with a mortgage payment to the Snap-On guy for stuff you use twice a year.

Vek

Nov 3, 2009
Not a millwright or tradesman of any kind...but I've gotten an awful lot of use out of std and metric sets of tubing/flare nut wrenches, on fuel system and brake work.

Horse1

Dec 31, 2007